Short answer: An OBD wiring harness marked 16 AWG tells you only part of the buying story. The Tooluse product page lists a 3 x 16 AWG OBD adapter, one available SKU and package data of 51 x 31 x 24 cm and 19 g. The product manufacturer does not specify conductor allocation, connector details, current rating, vehicle coverage, ECU support, diagnostic software or programming ability. Treat the item as a possible wiring component, compare its missing documents with the exact vehicle and tool manuals, and follow the manufacturers' connection and disconnection precautions before using it.

Wire gauge is not the wiring diagram

The listed product is an OBD adapter in a fixed 3 x 16 AWG configuration. The product page records one SKU and package data of 51 x 31 x 24 cm and 19 g. Those facts identify the offer, but AWG does not tell you which terminal each conductor reaches or whether the route fits your ECU.

The product manufacturer does not specify the connector gender, terminal type, conductor length, insulation, current rating, fuse, shielding, strain relief or environmental protection. Do not turn the 16 AWG label into a claim about durability, programming power or vehicle compatibility.

Listed factStill unresolved
3 x 16 AWG configurationWhich signals the three conductors carry
Single available SKUWhether the connector suits the exact vehicle
Package data: 51 x 31 x 24 cm, 19 gWorking length, current capacity and service life
3 × 16 AWG OBD Adapter controls and screen

Compare the complete diagnostic setup

A harness only makes sense inside a complete connection: vehicle or ECU, connector, power and earth arrangement, communication path, diagnostic tool and the software procedure. The product manufacturer does not specify that complete system. A no-communication fault can result from a wrong pin, missing power, incompatible protocol, vehicle fault or tool limitation; the adapter listing cannot distinguish those causes.

Use the exact vehicle manual, ECU documentation and tool maker's instructions. If a requested capability is not named, record manufacturer does not specify. That wording is more useful than assuming a familiar connector covers every module or scan function.

Verify before applying power

Autel's official manual gives a manufacturer-specific example of connecting a scan tool: ignition off before connection or disconnection, then the tool's documented sequence at the 16-pin data link connector. It is not evidence that this Tooluse adapter is an Autel-compatible product. Follow your own tool and vehicle manuals first.

HSE's motor-vehicle repair guidance includes precautions for brakes, neutral and vehicle support. These controls belong to the repair setting, not to the adapter, and they do not replace a verified wiring diagram.

  1. Identify the exact vehicle, ECU, connector and diagnostic tool, then gather the current manuals.
  2. Obtain a pinout and compare the required power, earth and communication paths with the adapter documentation.
  3. Inspect the connector, route and clearance without forcing or loading an unverified terminal.
  4. Connect and disconnect only in the sequence required by the vehicle and tool manufacturers; stop at abnormal heat, voltage or communication.

Limits and buying decision

Do not buy this listing as a complete scanner, programmer, breakout box, protocol converter or software-enabled interface. The product manufacturer does not specify those functions, and no vehicle coverage list is published. The safest interpretation is narrower: an adapter whose actual wiring still needs confirmation.

The cited product facts do not specify certification, accuracy, electrical protection, service life, vehicle coverage or safe programming performance. If the task depends on any of those items, ask for manufacturer documentation or choose a product with a published pinout and stated application.

The useful 16 AWG fact is only a starting point; buy after the exact pinout and tool procedure are documented, not because the connector or wire size looks familiar. Read 16 Pin OBD Adapter Harness UK: What to Check Before You Buy for related guidance. Read OBD K-line Adapter Cable Pin 7: What to Verify for related guidance. Review the documented specification on the 3 x 16 AWG OBD Adapter product page before ordering.

Sources and safety context